I’m delighted to announce that I will be inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Theatre this April.

Per their website, “The primary purpose of the College of Fellows of the American Theatre is to promote and encourage the highest standards of research, writing, and creativity in educational and professional theatre through honoring distinguished service and notable accomplishment by individuals of recognized national stature. The membership includes actors, critics, designers, directors, playwrights, producers, program administrators, distinguished teachers and scholars associated with the commercial and educational wings of the American theatre.”

I am one of ten new Fellows to be inducted in 2018, along with critic John Simon, producer Edgar Dobie, regional theatre pioneers Diane Rodriguez and David Saar, scholars Bill Doan and Sandra Shannon, and theatre educators Michael Dinwiddie, Kathryn Ervin, and Brant Pope.

Other inductees in the College’s fifty-plus year history include Edward Albee, Oscar Brockett, Helen Krich Chinoy, Harry Elam, Mordecai Gorelik, and my own former MA advisor: the late Brooks McNamara. A full list is available, but let me also note that I am the sixth University of Kansas faculty member to be so honored, joining Jed Davis, Lewin Goff, Andrew Tsubaki, Ron Willis, and Jack Wright.